Field Is Set for June 15 General Election in House District 95

Collierville School Board member Kevin Vaughan wins 7-person GOP primary, will go against Democrat Julie Byrd Ashworth and independents Robert Schutt and Jim Tomasik.

L to r: Vaughan, Ashworth, Schutt, Tomasik
  • L to r: Vaughan, Ashworth, Schutt, Tomasik

After the tabulation on Thursday of the vote in the special Republican primary for state House District 95, the field is now set for the special general election of June 15.

Kevin Vaughan, an engineer, real estate broker and Collierville School Board member, narrowly edged former Germantown alderman Frank Uhlhorn to win the seven-candidate GOP primary.

Vaughan will vie in the general with trial lawyer Julia Byrd Ashworth, the Democratic nominee, and two independents, student Robert Schutt and Libertarian activist JimTomasik.

With all 18 precincts counted in the district which includes portions of Colliervile, Germantown, and Eads, Vaughan ended with 1,066 votes to Uhlhorn’s 1,017. The rest of the GOP field finished in this order: Billy Patton, 751 votes; Missy Marshall, 682; Gail Horner, 247; Curtis Loynachan, 134; and Joseph Crone, 58.

Ashworth, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary, had 363 votes. There were two write-in votes in her primary, and two also in the Republican primary.

Keep the Flyer Free!

Always independent, always free (never a paywall),
the Memphis Flyer is your source for the best in local news and information.

Now we want to expand and enhance our work.
That's why we're asking you to join us as a Frequent Flyer member.

You'll get membership perks (find out more about those here) and help us continue to deliver the independent journalism you've come to expect.

Add a comment