Seven Vie for Vacant District 1 Council Seat



Seven candidates interested in filling the vacant Memphis City Council seat left by Bill Morrison submitted applications before the Wednesday deadline.

After Morrison was elected Shelby County Probate Clerk in August and officially resigned from the District 1 council seat earlier this month, those looking to fill the vacancy were instructed to submit a qualifying packet to the council.

Seven candidates submitted applications and were certified by the Shelby County Election Commission. They include:

• Lonnie Treadway

• Tierra Holloway

• Paul Boyd

• Faye Morrison

• Danielle Schonbaum

• Rhonda Logan

• Mauricio Calvo

The full city council is set to hear a presentation from each candidate at its Tuesday, November 20th meeting before voting on a candidate.

Additionally, resignations of Council members Janis Fullilove of Super District 8-2 and Edmund Ford Jr. of District 6 become effective, November 23rd and 25th respectively.

Interested candidates have from Monday, November 26th until Thursday, December 13th at noon to submit an application, proof of residency, and signatures from 25 registered voters in their respective district. The council will choose the two candidates on Tuesday, December 18th.

Keep the Flyer Free!

Always independent, always free (never a paywall),
the Memphis Flyer is your source for the best in local news and information.

Now we want to expand and enhance our work.
That's why we're asking you to join us as a Frequent Flyer member.

You'll get membership perks (find out more about those here) and help us continue to deliver the independent journalism you've come to expect.

Add a comment