Politics » Politics Feature

Democratic Lawyers for Justice Ballot



To the Voters of Shelby County:

The upcoming election, Tuesday, August 3rd is extremely important. The ballot is the longest in history. Voters will not only be choosing their county Mayor, Sheriff, District Attorney, nominees for the Senate, and Governor, but making selections in over 20 contested judicial races. We encourage you to not only vote, but also vote in all the races on the ballot, particularly the judicial races. These Judges that are elected August 3rd will serve for the next eight years. We encourage you to try and make informed decisions in your judicial selections.

Democratic Lawyers for Justice is a group of democratic lawyers who practice in the courts and know who the good judges are. We need Judges who are fair, competent and have a good work ethic. We need Judges who respect the law and the people they are called upon to judge. Not every lawyer who is a member of Democratic Lawyers for Justice necessarily supports every one of the endorsed judicial candidates, but the endorsements represent a strong consensus. Please study the ballot and make an effort to not only vote but to vote in all the races. This year, early voting starts July 14th at all satellite-polling locations.


Mike Cody, A C Wharton, Jr.

Democratic Lawyers for Justice Ballot
Vote to keep high standards for justice in Shelby County

James F. Russell
Circuit Court, Div. 2

Jerry Stokes
Circuit Court, Div. 6

D'Army Bailey
Circuit Court, Div. 8

Arnold Goldin
Chancellor, Part 2

Janet Lansky Shipman
Criminal Court, Div. 7

Mark Ward
Criminal Court, Div 9

John Donald
General Sessions, Div. 3

Regina M. Newman
General Sessions, Div. 4

Kenny Armstrong
Chancellor, Part 3

Paula Skahan
Criminal Court, Div. 1

Carolyn Wade Blackett
Criminal Court, Div. 4

Dewun R. Settle
Criminal Court, Div. 5

Betty Thomas Moore
General Sessions, Div. 5

Ann Pugh
General Sessions, Div. 7

Mischelle A. Best
General Sessions, Div. 11

Gwen Rooks
General Sessions, Div. 12

Louis J. Montesi, Jr.
General Sessions, Div. 13

Veronica Coleman
Juvenile Court

Donn Southern
Probate Court, Div.

Paid for by Democratic Lawyers for Justice PAC
Leslie Ballin
Nathan Bicks
David Cocke
Robert A Cox
Don A Donati
Greg Duckett
Trey Jordan
Bruce Kramer
Bruce A McMullen
Junaid Odubeko
Karl Schledwitz
Jim Strickland
Dale Tuttle, Treasurer
Democratic Lawyers for Justice
Judicial Ballot
Election Day is Aug. 3rd
Early Voting begins July 14th

Keep the Flyer Free!

Always independent, always free (never a paywall),
the Memphis Flyer is your source for the best in local news and information.

Now we want to expand and enhance our work.
That's why we're asking you to join us as a Frequent Flyer member.

You'll get membership perks (find out more about those here) and help us continue to deliver the independent journalism you've come to expect.

Add a comment