Music » Music Features




The local chapter of the National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences announced nominations last week for the 16th Annual Premier Player Awards. Awards are voted on by NARAS members and will be presented on April 5th at The Pyramid. This year’s Premier Player Awards will salute New Orleans and will present the organization’s Governor’s Award to Crescent City legends The Meters. The North Mississippi Allstars and the University of Mississippi Gospel Choir are among those scheduled to join the Meters as performers. A complete list of nominees follows: Band: Big Ass Truck, FreeWorld, Lucero, North Mississippi Allstars, Kevin Paige Band, Preston Shannon Band. Female Vocalist: Joyce Cobb, Jackie Johnson, Susan Marshall Powell, Reba Russell, Ruby Wilson. Male Vocalist: Jimmy Davis, James Govan, Gary Johns, Kevin Paige, Preston Producer: Paul Ebersold, Jim Gaines, Jeff Powell, Norbert Putnam, Ross Rice. Engineer: William Brown, Posey Hedges, Dawn Hopkins, Kevin Houston, Jeff Powell. Award for Outstanding Achievement: Paul Ebersold, Jim Gaines, North Mississippi Allstars, Sounds Unreel Studio, Three 6 Mafia. Drums/Percussion: Jim Britt, Cody Dickinson, Harry Peel, Steve Potts, David Skypeck. Bass: Jackie Clark, Tim Goodwin, Sam Shoupe, Dave Smith, John Williams. Guitar: Tommy Burroughs, Luther Dickinson, Jack Holder, Preston Shannon, Harold Smith, Brian Overstreet. Keyboards: Al Gamble, Ross Rice, Rick Steff, Tony Thomas, Charlie Wood. Brass: Tom Clary, Steve Dolan, Mark Franklin, David Spencer, Scott Thompson. Woodwinds: Art Edmaiston, Tom Link, Lannie McMillan, Jim Spake, Kirk Smothers. Strings: Roy Brewer, David Cho, Richard Ford, Susanna Perry Gilmore, Eric Lewis. Harmonica: Billy Gibson, Lyn Jones, Blind Mississippi Morris, Mark Sallings, Robert “Nighthawk” Tooms. Choir: Kevin Davidson and the Voices, O’Landa Draper’s Associates, Orange Mound Choir, Billy Rivers & Angelic Voices of Faith, Tennessee Mass Choir, University of Mississippi Gospel Choir. Songwriter: Nancy Apple, Cory Branan, Jimmy Davis, John Kilzer, Kevin Paige, Ross Rice. Live DJ/Turntable Artist: Michael “Boogaloo” Boyer, DJ Aramis, DJ Slice, Devin Steele. Rapper: Al Kapone, Gangsta Boo, Lois Lane, Playa Fly, Project Pat, Three 6 Mafia. Premier Newcomer Award: Cory Branan, Dust for Life, Katrice, Richard Johnston, Kirk Smithart. Premier Music Teacher Award: Jonah Ellis, Tom Link, Ricky Richardson, David Spencer, Jackie Thomas. Award for Community Service: George Klein, Memphis & Shelby County Music Commission’s Musicians Health Care Plan, Deanie Parker, Rock N’ Soul Museum, WEVL-FM 90.

Keep the Flyer Free!

Always independent, always free (never a paywall),
the Memphis Flyer is your source for the best in local news and information.

Now we want to expand and enhance our work.
That's why we're asking you to join us as a Frequent Flyer member.

You'll get membership perks (find out more about those here) and help us continue to deliver the independent journalism you've come to expect.

Add a comment